top of page

Meet the Owner of K9 Ascent


Hello, I'm Ashley!


My small business was born out of a love for animals, a passion for the outdoors and a dedication to helping pets & people live happier, healthier lives together.


I strive to build long-lasting bonds with every animal I meet and am passionate about providing pets with the best care possible.

With certifications in animal behavior & training, I enjoy learning about all things "dog" and love using enrichment & positive training to create more joyful & harmonious relationships between people and their pets.



PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATIONS

I've earned professional certifications in behavior & training under the mentorship of applied animal behaviorist, Dr. James Ha and esteemed trainer & educator, Cristine Dahl. As the collective knowledge & understanding of companion animals continues to evolve, I love learning & exploring progressive sciences & philosophies that propel us to live more mindfully & compassionately alongside the animals we love.

Certificate in Applied Animal Behavior (UW-AAB)

University of Washington

Certified in Canine Studies (CCS)

The Northwest School of Canine Studies

Dog Trainer Foundations

Karen Pryor Academy

Fear Free Certified Professional

Fear Free Pets

Fundamentals of Animal Massage

NW School of Animal Massage

Pet CPR & First Aid Certified

American Red Cross


CREATING A SAFE & POSITIVE EXPERIENCE FOR YOUR DOG WHILE TAKING CARE OF OUR PARKS & COMMUNITY


Dogs are always learning and I keep this in mind whenever I’m out with the pups. During my walks, I try to create a safe & fun environment for dogs to be dogs, while encouraging healthy behaviors and reinforcing fundamental skills and training. This can involve practicing useful cues, recall, loose leash walking or engaging in fun training games that strengthen our bond & build engagement.


As a strong advocate for respecting public & shared spaces, I am passionate about cultivating behaviors that enable both your pup and myself to be responsible custodians of our local parks & trails. During our outings, we actively engage in practices such as stepping off the trail and patiently waiting as people pass by, observing wildlife from a safe distance without causing disturbance, and adhering to the principles of Leave No Trace.


Through proactive & consistent practice of a variety of skills during our walks, they become more ingrained in our dogs' behavior, creating even more enjoyable adventures for all of us.


LESSONS LEARNED FROM MY HEART DOG, BAILEY

In the pictures above is my dog, Bailey; my heart & soul, best friend & greatest teacher. The lessons I've learned from Bailey are at the heart of everything I do. Having struggled with arthritis & chronic pain for much of her life, Bailey has taught me the importance of having compassion for each other & ourselves, learning how to accept the limitations out of our control and the beauty of slowing down. It is because of her that I have an especially soft spot in my heart for animals struggling with medical or behavioral challenges.


A PEEK INTO MY LIFE OUTSIDE OF DOGS

Outside of my work with dogs, I love exploring the beauty of the natural world. Born & raised in Washington state, I've been lucky enough to develop my outdoor skills while traversing some of our most stunning mountain ranges. If I'm not in the mountains, you can find me biking, paddleboarding, playing the piano, creating art, spending time with my family or snuggled up with my cat & a good TV show at home.


With a Bachelor's Degree in Travel Industry Management from the University of Hawaii, I also have a love for the ocean and travel. I truly believe that the beauty of this world lies in the incredible diversity of life & cultures across the globe.

 

About the Author: Ashley Diaz is a dedicated pet owner and animal lover with over 10 years of experience providing professional pet care. With certifications in applied animal behavior & training, she shares her knowledge and insights on pet ownership, behavior, and welfare in her blog. Outside of her work with animals, Ashley enjoys spending time with her family, hiking, practicing yoga and playing the piano.

FOLLOW OUR PAWPRINTS

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page